Join or Login
View Video
7 votes
Vancouver-based psychedelic industrial doom duo Post Death Soundtrack craft a dense electric symphony of heathen guitars, brazen bass, and a bubbling cauldron of synthesizers and found sounds. The score to the untamed plains of the subconscious. This lays the groundwork over which the inimitable Steve Moore showcases his crushing vocal performances. In each piece, he takes from his hall of faces to embody the essence of a theme, be it scathing fury or enlightened ambivalence. Balancing ferocity and serenity, surrealist absurdity and earworm familiarity. Conceived in grubby back rooms and underground clubs of inhospitable Calgary, Canada, Post Death Soundtrack initially took inspiration from the same forces that drive young obstinate bands in cities like DC and Austin and Detroit. The cognitive dissonance between the forces that run their town and the forces that run their lives. The original duo of KENNETH BUCK and STEVE MOORE took aim squarely at the hypocrisies of government, religion, and mainstream ideology with blinding rage but also tongue firmly in cheek sarcasm. The debut album, 2008's Music as Weaponry, pulls together the wild, brash industrial of Skinny Puppy and Ministry with the hypnotic trip-hop textures of Portishead and Massive Attack to deliver an engrossing indictment of Western culture and an offer to rise above its trappings. On the heels of the release of Music as Weaponry, JON IRESON was recruited to the lineup, adding his own brand of mesmerizing psychedelia to the mix. Now with one foot on the coast in Vancouver, the group set out to create what would become their deep dive inward, The Unlearning Curve. Ireson's affinity for 60s and 70s psychedelic rock, as well as the nebulous electronica that came out of Britain from the likes of Underworld and a techno-age David Bowie, allowed Buck and Moore to take their vocals further down the rabbit hole to fever dream mantras and mad hatter ravings. COLIN EVERALL was brought on board to fill in on drums for a handful of rare live dates but would also end up contributing his haunting piano piece 'Through the Gates' over which Moore takes the listener on a perilous journey to the "other side". Relocations, breakups, releasing other projects and a daunting bout with cancer led to the album getting shelved for 3 long years. In 2016, the loose ends were tied up and The Unlearning Curve was unleashed, forging a new brand of psychedelic industrial. A concept album that persisted the notion of seeking beyond the material and the corporeal. Now, Post Death Soundtrack are back with their most ambitious and vitriolic collection to date, It Will Come Out of Nowhere. The group, now streamlined back to a duo, has Ireson at the reins of the sprawling production while Moore takes us on a trip through his tempestuous psyche. The 11 unforgiving tracks explore when calamity comes knocking unexpectedly on your door inspired by betrayal, divorce, personal loss and other blind-sided knocks to the ego. Doom, hip-hop and Indian raga all leech into the groundwater giving the album an unparalleled sonic breadth. The sardonic trudge-hop of the lead single 'Chosen Sons' takes woozy mellotron strings and splices in cryptic samples, digital dive-bombs, a serene Arabian breakdown, and a punishing final statement amid the roars of beasts. 'Expect No Sympathy' opens with a hoard descending on a village in a surreal wild west scene before launching into a tirade of cold justice. Trumpeting guitar leads and flurries of piano lead the traitor to the gallows. Hip-hop meets doom metal on this stomping hell ride. Redemption can be found on the B side of the record with the Indian cadence of 'Benediction' (featuring Lyndsay Johnston) or the zen freedom of 'Pathless Land' but the final word comes in the form of the devastating 'Bridge Burner'. A ten-minute epic that boils over with venomous indictments. The fiery eruptions of the song's opening tirade thicken to oozing lava as the juggernaut slows to a pummeling, sludgy crawl, eventually turning to stone. It Will Come Out of Nowhere came out February 15th, 2019 on limited release 2LP vinyl with custom slipcase and available on all major streaming platforms.
Order by: 
Per page:
  •  Anonymous: 

    Video is just magnificent and awesome to watch it. Music and beat is perfect. You can also create your own music website with the help of webtoolsoffers. A place for best software deals, discounts, and offers for web hosting.   

     10 days agoReply 
    0 points
  •  Anonymous: 

    The glitter dew drops like a few words that have not been thought of yet.

    Wait for the other spring to love and stop by. happy wheels run 3

     13 days agoReply 
    0 points
  •  Anonymous: 

    The intellectual disharmony between the powers that run their town and the powers that run their lives. The first pair of KENNETH BUCK and STEVE MOORE focused unequivocally at the deceptions of government, religion, and standard belief system with blinding anger yet in addition tongue immovably in cheek mockery. By : Dissertation Writers Uk

    0 points
  •  Anonymous: 

    Must be thanks for the nice post looking the sync your settings here and seen the all update of the access all internet setting easily.

    0 points
  •  Anonymous: 

    Chosen Sons; isn't really the typical friday morning palette chemical I regularly suggest, however at some point darker days call for something with more edge. Along these lines, if you are keen on getting in a harder, here's the best approach to do it.

    -1 point
   Comment Record a video comment
Video info
03.31.2019 (175 days ago)
Videos From This Album